South Carolina has several players who were named to preseason watch lists for some of college football's most prestigious awards. 

The Gamecocks have the type of talent now that is recognized across the country and it's much needed in the always tough SEC. 

Here's a look at some of the players and the watch lists they were named to:

  1. T.J. Johnson - Johnson was named to the Rimington Trophy Watch List and the Outland Trophy Watch List. The Outland Trophy is awarded to the nation's best interior lineman while the Rimington Trophy is awarded to the best center in college football. 
  2. Jadeveon Clowney - Clowney was named to the Bednarik Award Watch list and the Nagurski Trophy Watch List. The Nagurski Trophy is awarded to the nation's best defensive player while the Bednarik Trophy is also given to the nation's best defensive player. 
  3. Devin Taylor - Taylor was nominated on the same list as Jadeveon Clowney. He too will be one to watch for the Bednarik and Nagurski Trophy. 
  4. Marcus Lattimore - Lattimore was named to the Maxwell Award Watch list. This award is given to the most outstanding offensive football player in college football. 

These four players will be critical to South Carolina's success in 2012.

They are some of the leaders on this football team and have a chance to continue what Steve Spurrier has built over the last few seasons.